Skip to content

Letter 2: “Why don’t you have a girlfriend?”

September 28, 2013

Olá! Tudo bem!

So, week 1 in the MTC was a great success. This is one of the coolest places on Earth. This week was great. I’m learning so much in such a small time frame, it’s incredible. To think that just 9 days ago I could only count to 10 in Portuguese, and now I can speak it almost conversationally is awesome.

Shout out to my companion Elder Kimball. I don’t remember if I told you that he put out an album in my last letter, but he has, and it’s on iTunes and places like that. Just search Griff Kimball, and you’ll find it. Listen to it and tell me how it is! He and two other Elders from my district tried out to play a musical number in like devotionals and things like that. They played an incredible mix of hymns, but apparently the tempo was too upbeat for a devotional musical number. I still thought it was awesome, though.

We taught our investigator more and more, with our Portuguese getting better each time. I can definitely feel the influence of the Spirit when I’m teaching in Portuguese. I’ll be talking, and a word will come into my head to use, but I won’t remember what exactly it means, but I’ll use it anyways and look it up later and it is the exact word I was trying to use. My Portuguese is coming along alright, replacing the Spanish in my head, so it’s good that I’m not getting them confused as much anymore!

The highlight of the week was committing our investigator to baptism. It was an incredible experience. At first, we didn’t have a commitment to follow up on, so we went in the lesson kind of unprepared, but I just felt the Spirit testifying through me, and before I knew it, I was looking up in my little book how to ask someone to be baptized. He said yes!! He said that he would get baptized once he knew for himself that the gospel was true. Man, I just felt so much love for this man that I hardly knew.

Love is like the name of the game here at the MTC. You love your investigators, you love your teachers, you love your companion and the members of your district. Even though I hardly have known these people for a week, the love that I feel for them I know is like the love that God feels for us.

My district’s always is asking me “You’re so funny, why don’t you have a girlfriend?” Frankly, I don’t know.

Shout out to Courtney Miller for the baked goods and stickers! And to my family for the Nesquik and everything! And grandma for the buttons! You guys are awesome!! And thanks for all the dearelders, I’m working on getting replies to y’all for all of them, I’m just so busy! But don’t worry, they will come.

Gonna just ask for a couple things here. I kinda need like a sweatshirt or something. It’s getting kinda chilly up here. And like 2 more T-Shirts. I didn’t bring enough. Packing. Lol.

Everyone write me! My address is:

Elder Connor Steven Weeks
OCT28 BRA-MAC
2009 N 900 E Unit 166

Provo, UT 84602

You can also use dearelder.com to mail me for free. My mission is Provo MTC, Departure date is Oct 28, Unit 166, Mission code: BRA-MAC.

The more letters the better!

Tchau!

Elder Weeks

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

