Skip to content

Letter 3: New Companion and Other News

October 6, 2013

This week in the MTC:

Hey guys, Elder Weeks here with the top stories of this week.

On Sunday, I got a companion change. His name is Elder Ririe. Usually we don’t have companion exchanges in the MTC, but this was an exception. Elder Kimball went with Elder Ririe’s companion and I got Elder Ririe as mine. It’ll be good. Elder Kimball was a great companion, but I’m excited to work with Elder Ririe now.

In other exciting news, I found out on Tuesday that the new branch president (our old branch president got moved up into a district presidency) wanted Elder Kimball and his new companheiro to be the Zone Leaders. Awesome!! So, in Elder Kimball getting moved up to be a Zone Leader, there was an opening for a District Leader, and the branch president wants me to be the new DL! This takes place on Sunday, so I’m not quite the leader yet, but it’s coming up! Basically what that means is that I’m in charge of my district of 10 elders, making sure they’re all taken care of, happy, sleeping, and working hard. I also just get to go to a looooooot more meetings, and get to pick up the mail for everyone twice a day, but I’m ultra excited for this opportunity to serve!

This week had high points and low points. One of the high points was going into class where we were to teach an investigator. I thought that we had planned the lesson, but apparently we hadn’t. So we had to plan an entire lesson in 20 minutes. Something I thought to be impossible, but it turned out to be one of our best lessons we’ve ever given. The spirit was there so strongly, and it was great to see the investigator understanding what we were saying and feeling the Spirit, even though we had next to no preparation time.

On the other hand, we gave a lesson to an investigator one night, and it was late and we only had about 5 minutes to teach. It was an epic mess. She seemed disinterested, we couldn’t put our words together. I had to straight up ask her during the lesson, “Do you even want to learn about our church?” She said yes, but I didn’t really believe it. I don’t know. We’ve got another lesson with her on Monday, so we’ll see if we can have an actual lesson and get a better response from her. It was one of the more frustrating times of my stay here. I’m sure it’s just preparing me for the field and teaching me how to deal with disappointment in this new missionary life.

To anyone out there going on a mission: Look up the talk ‘Doctrines, Principles, and Applications,’ by Elder David A. Bednar. It’s an awesome talk. We watched a video of it on Sunday night, and it was one of the best talks I’ve ever heard on teaching the gospel.  (Editor’s note:  we looked for the talk, and apparently the talk was given in the MTC a few years ago, and it is not available on the internet anywhere we looked; however, there are notes from the talk available.)

Days truly are long here, but they’re getting more manageable.  It’s tricky to sleep and wake up at the times I need to, but I’m getting into the swing of things.  I got with Elder Racule to give him the bag that Billy gave me to give him–finally found him.  Looks just like Billy, too.

Thank you mom and dad for sending the shirts and sweatshirt! They smelled like the trail mix that they were packed with, but now they’re washed and smell supa-clean!

Don’t forget to write me! DearElder.com or letters sent to:

Elder Connor Steven Weeks
OCT28 BRA-MAC
2009 N 900 E Unit 166
Provo, UT 84602

or email me at weeks.connor@myldsmail.net

Eu sei que isto é o evangelho restaurado na Terrá (I know this is the restored gospel on the earth).

Eu amo minha família e sinto saudades de eles (I love my family and I miss them).

Bye guys

Love you guys,

Elder Weeks

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

