Skip to content

Letter 5: Wow Oh Wow! One Month!

October 21, 2013

I’m simply going to preface this letter by saying that today I wore my green Crocs with the canvas uppers around since it’s P-Day, and an Elder said that he liked them. So yeah. Crocs are cool. 

Anyways, I’ve been in the MTC for one month today! We should have a party. Except we shouldn’t. One thing it has done for me though is given me perspective. Looking on my mission a couple weeks ago, two years seemed like forever. It still does. But now that I have one month under my belt, and seeing how quickly it blew by, two years seems a little more manageable. Of course, I’m not looking right at the end goal right now. It’s still forever away, but I’ll honestly be home before I know it. 

This week, not very much happened. I get emails from all my friends out in the mission field talking about how they’re seeing burnt out houses and talking to all sorts of interesting people, and it makes me want to get into the field so bad! As much fun as the MTC is, it’s getting kinda old. But I play volleyball every day in gym, and I’m getting better! It’s too bad it’s all about fútebol em Brasil. (Fun fact, even though Brasil is spelled with an s, it’s still pronounced Brazil. The more you know.)

For our devotional this week, Elder Oaks came and spoke to us. I kind of went into it expecting a talk like the ones we watch on Sunday nights with Elder Bednar and Elder Holland, but it was more like a conference talk. It was really good, though.

Meu português está melhorando, e meu distrito tentava falar só em português ontem. Foi díficil, mas nós falamos muito. Todo mundo está progredindo em sua lengua, e tenho muito orgulho em eles. (Hopefully Google Translate takes this right)  Translation:  My Portuguese is improving, and my district tried to speak in Portuguese only yesterday. It was difficult, but we talked a lot. Everyone is progressing in the language, and I’m very proud of them.

My knee has been bugging me for about as long as I’ve been here. It’s just a slight pain, and it gets really sore when I sit for a long period of time. I went to the health clinic though, and the doctor (who was also my mission prep teacher at BYU) gave me some naproxen, and it’s helping a ton.

A member of the branch presidency talked to us the other day, telling us about how when we do something, we need to ask ourselves: first, ‘Is it bad?’ If the answer to this question is yes, it’s a Telestial thing to do. If you ask yourself, ‘is it good?’, it’s a Terrestial thing to do. And if we ask ourselves, ‘Is it valiant?’, and it is, it’s a Celestial thing to do. Between this one little bit of wisdom and the concepts in the Character of Christ talk, I realize how much work I have yet to do, but I’m working on it.

Oh, and this is the Mormon Message that made me cry this week. Woohoo. https://www.lds.org/pages/mormon-messages#enduring-love

Don’t forget to write!!!

weeks.connor@myldsmail.net

Do it!

Love you all,

Elder Weeks

More pictures are being added to the site.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

