Skip to content

Letter 6: Tchau, MTC

October 25, 2013

First off, I’m so pumped to go to Redlands California. I was reassigned there. It’s the mission formerly known as the California San Bernardino Mission. I’m super excited to go there and begin teaching and preaching and working as missionaries do. It feels right. 

My district is splitting up and heading all over the United States, since none of us has received our visas.  Two elders are headed to Philadelphia, two are headed to Bakersfield, CA, one is headed to Baton Rouge LA, which includes New Orleans, one is going to Roseville CA, one is headed to Salt Lake City South, and the last one is headed to Dallas.

Something that happened this week–apparently I have a pair of dry clean only pants. Well, had. It wasn’t my suit, so I thought it was alright to wash them. Turns out it wasn’t. 100% wool, 100% shrink. I tried to put them on, nothing doing. I handed them over to Elder Kimball, and I guess they fit him perfectly! So, when all was said and done, I ruined a pair of pants, then traded them for a tie. Woohoo!

This week, I have been trying to be more Christlike. There have been reminders everywhere of ‘forget yourself and go to work,’ and those have been pretty significant on me. I’ve felt so selfish these last couple days, and it’s like impossible to get over myself. It’s so hard to turn outwards at all times of the day. You always want to turn inwards and feel sorry for yourself that you didn’t get to sing with the sister in the other district for the musical number and somebody else did. It’s hard. A lot over the past couple days I’ve felt like Nephi in 2 Nephi 4. ‘O wretched man that I am!’ I mean I’m not a bad guy by any means, I just feel like I could be so much better, and it is frustrating to know that I’ll never be perfect, I can only work so hard to get there. It’s a process. I try to remind myself every day to be a little better than the day before, and that’s all you can do sometimes.

I love everyone. I miss you all so much and I want y’all to keep writing! I have no idea where my mission address will be, so it’d just be safer to send emails to weeks.connor@myldsmail.net, Also, if you mail anything to the MTC at this point, I won’t get it and it’ll be returned to you in like a couple weeks. CALIFORNIA HERE I COME!

Love,

Elder Weeks

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

