Skip to content

Letter 8: I Accidentally Put on Pants Today

November 12, 2013

Hi guys.

I accidentally put on pants today. My bad. I thought it was November, but the thermometer says differently. It’s about 80 and not a cloud in the sky here. Pretty dang nice if you ask me, but I definitely had to change into shorts for P-day.

This week went by sooo much faster than the first one. I think I’m starting to get into the swing of things a little bit and getting into the missionary habits. It was still a pretty slow week, though. We did a lot of work with less-active members of the Church, so we got a lot of doors slammed in our face. We go up to doors on our ward list that we know are less active, and just try to cold contact them. Most of the time they say “I’m not about that life anymore” so we just have to move on to the next house.

We contacted less-active members all day basically all week, and only got invited into one of their houses. We had a guy named Adam on the list, and we went to his address, but the house didn’t seem to exist. The numbers on the street just jumped over his, and needless to say, we were confused. But, I saw a car parked at one of the nearby houses that had a big Kansas City Chiefs sticker on the back, and I just knew I had to knock that house. So, I did, and it was the person we were looking for! He was super nice, invited us in, and talked with us for a couple minutes. He invited us back whenever, so we’ll definitely be stopping by again.

We’re trying really hard to find investigators, but it’s very difficult. It’s a little discouraging to be calling in your numbers and have a lot of 0’s for lessons taught and progressing investigators, but we have to keep our heads up and keep trying, because I know there’s someone out there looking for our message, we just need to find them! Also, it’s a little frustrating not to be able to speak Portuguese at all. I feel like I’m forgetting it all, but I guess this is what I’m supposed to be doing right now.

New pictures were added this week.  The first picture is of the Redlands Temple my very first day here, with clouds in the background. We were doing our little orientation across the parking lot from it, then it was photoshoot time! Second, is my bed in the apartment. We’re moving to our own apartment this Friday, so hopefully I have a real bed in that one.   And another one is a pic of some little white shirts we make for thank you cards for the members.

Love you all, and write me! Lhes amo.

Elder Weeks

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

