Skip to content

Letter 9: I Cooked Chicken from Raw!

November 18, 2013

This week, not very much happened. It’s still a slow progress, and we’re still trying to find people to teach and the’re coming slowly but surely. I’m trying as hard as I can not to get discouraged, because when you get discouraged, you start being less effective, and that’s definitely not what we need right now. We need to keep pushing forward in the work. I’ve been finding a lot of comfort in the chorus of Let Us All Press On (the bottom part especially). It’s inspiring. I always thought the whole comparison of missionaries to warriors was cheesy, but now that I’m here, I feel it’s very true. We’re out here fighting for what we know and support and need to have faith in that.

We had a mission-wide conference this weekend, and if I had to boil my entire page and a half of revelatory notes to one simple sentence, it would be this: Trust and have faith in the Lord and he will direct and deliver you. It doesn’t matter what we’re going through in life, having to quit a job with no backup plan, walking up and talking to random people, deciding whether or not to get a risky surgery, we simply have to go to the Lord and ask him and trust in what He knows is best for us. The scripture we shared last night to a less-active member was Proverbs 3:5-6. A lesson that we all can learn.

In other news, I cooked chicken for the first time this week, all by myself from raw! Cut off the fat and sliced it and cooked it on the stove with garlic salt and everything. It was sooooooo delicious, and I made a quesadilla with it and everything. That was easily the tastiest quesadilla I’ve ever eaten in my life.

And I sent a picture of my homemade quesadilla with my homemade KoolAid with my not-so-homemade Taco Bell sauce.

I have gotten all the packages, and the move was great. It’s a nice place and I’m glad to be living in a real room instead of a living room.

I love you and pray for you every day.

Don’t forget to write! Just send all mail to the mission office, and it’ll get to me one way or another! Or shoot me an email at weeks.connor@myldsmail.net.

Love you all,

Elder Weeks

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

