Skip to content

Letter 10: 2-Month-iversary!

November 26, 2013

Hello everyone!

I didn’t realize it, but last Monday was my 2-month-iversary. It’s not impressive, but it kind of caught me off guard. It doesn’t feel like I’ve been out for two months, but then again, it doesn’t feel like any less either. I don’t know. Weeks are zooming by now that we’re getting into the swing of things, and transfers are coming up in just two short weeks. That’ll be 2 of my 17 transfers. It’s just kind of weird to be away from the world like this, but surrounded by it. The only news I get is from the members here telling me what’s going on in the world. (Including BYU Football scores). I can’t wait to come back in two years and see how much the world has changed.

Anyways, this week was another nice and slow week, missionary work-wise. Going a lot of places and trying to visit less-active members, which sometimes works out, sometimes not. We did get a referral from mormon.org, though, and it was a less active guy who lived in a nursing home. He’s only less active because he can hardly get out of bed at all. Anyways, we wouldn’t have known about him, except he moved into a new nursing home in our area, and one of the care-givers is also a less-active member. So, we’re going to begin teaching them, trying to get them back involved in the church and get the care-giver and his wife active and worthy to enter the temple and be sealed to each other for time and all eternity. It’s exciting!

I was listening to a few talks this week, and one hit me super hard. It’s called “Safety for the Soul,” by Jeffrey R. Holland from the October 2009 Conference. https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2009/10/safety-for-the-soul?lang=eng&media=video#watch=video .  Just listening to this, it’s the strongest testimony I’ve ever heard of the Book of Mormon, and one that has made an impact on me for sure. You can just tell by the way he speaks he knows for a fact that what he’s saying is true. I hope, someday, to bear an equally strong testimony of the Book of Mormon. An Elder in our apartment also has some Mormon Messages DVDs, and this one is one of my favorites. It’s called Earthly Father, Heavenly Father. It can teach us about faith and how we trust in our Heavenly Father, and how much gratitude we should have for him. https://www.lds.org/media-library/video/2013-01-002-earthly-father-heavenly-father. I wish I could just watch these all day, they’re so great!

I love you all, and hope y’all have a great Thanksgiving!

Elder Weeks

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

