Skip to content

Letter 12: End of the Transfer!

December 10, 2013

Well, that’s one transfer down and however many to go! This transfer was a good one, and taught me so much about how to be a good missionary.

I learned faith, diligence, and obedience. Just like Nephi talks about, the Spirit works according to these three principles. I truly learned this transfer the blessings of obedience. I can definitely tell the difference between when I was striving to be exactly obedient, and when I was slacking off a little bit. You get to bed at 10:30 at night, you’ll feel fine the next day. Push that back to 10:35, I always feel tired and groggy. This, among other things, are the blessings of obedience.

I also learned how to rely on God and trust in his timing. I’ve got a small but cool story to share. We were trying to visit this less-active member of the church for weeks now. It was someone our Relief Society President told us to go see. Every time we go over there, there’s no answer at the door. We drive up to try the 4th or 5th time, and right as we park, the garage opens. The lady we were supposed to see had something fall out of her car, making her open her garage to get light to look for it. She told us to not come back, but at least we made a contact and could report to the Relief Society President what happened, instead of not knowing.

Elder Null got transferred this morning. To Brazil. So, in the meantime, I’m getting ‘babysat’ by two Spanish Branch Elders until Wednesday when transfers happen. It’s strange trying to speak Spanish again, after studying Portuguese so much. It’s difficult to change language gears. I was thinking about asking to get transfered into Spanish speaking, but now I know I shouldn’t, because I’d speak the wrong language! WhenWednesday hits, I’m going to get a new companion, Elder Berry. I’ve never met him before, so it’ll be a surprise. Of course, now that I lost the companion with a broken foot, I lose the car as well. Woohoo biking missionaries! I’ll get more exercise now at least!

Love you all, and keep it classy.  Write me!!

Elder Weeks

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

