Skip to content

Letter 14: The Lord Is My Light

December 31, 2013

This week, I’ve basically had The Lord is My Light stuck in my head every day. Here’s the hymn. It’s really hit home for me, because as most of you know, I’m not a very outgoing person. I am once I know people, but before then, no way. So, as we’re on bikes, we’re constantly passing people that we can talk to and offer to share a message with. Well, at the beginning of this week, I’d pass them. I’d just ride on by, and not talk to them because I’d be scared that they’d say no, I guess. But the first line of that song. “The Lord is my light; then why should I fear?” I realized I had no reason to be afraid of people. All they can do is say no. And, I’ve been set apart to share the gospel with everyone. Not just the people that look nice and come up and talk with us.

Since I’ve been doing this, and Elder Berry as well, we haven’t necessarily gotten any investigators yet, but we’ve talked to a couple people that could turn into them. People that we’d just end up passing on the way to our appointments, that I would usually ignore, we talk to and they end up becoming a positive contact. We even took this so far as to try to give away some cookies we decorated at dinner last night. We weren’t going home until we gave someone the cookies. Well, we talked to everyone. Even going up into some garages to talk to people. Long story short, we somebody took the cookies, and said he was interested in the gospel but didn’t have time right then. It was a cool experience and showed me the importance of ‘falando com tudo mundo’ as it says in my Portuguese Preach My Gospel.

I love you all, and hope you all have a Merry Christmas. 
 
And don’t worry, I’ve gotten most of my bike problems figured out.
 
Elder Weeks
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

