Skip to content

Letter 24: Transferred Again

March 5, 2014

Last night I learned I was being transferred again. I’m staying within the stake, and within the zone, but I’m moving over to Highland in the Amber Hills Ward. I found out I’m going to be a District Leader over there, so that is kind of exciting! I’m also getting whitewashed in, meaning that both me and my companion are getting transferred in at the same time, and we don’t know anything about the area. I didn’t think I was going to be transferred out of the Mill Creek ward, but I guess my work there was done, and oh what good work it was.

When I got into Mill Creek, we had a few shaky potential investigators that all kind of fizzled out within the first couple of weeks. So, essentially, we had next to nothing. It reminded me of when Elder Null and I opened up the new area in Yucaipa. But, through hard work, working with the members and less-active members, we’ve picked up 3 pretty solid investigators, and have 4 or 5 potential investigators that are only potential because we haven’t had a real lesson with them.

I’m really excited to start in this new area, but the zone leaders say that they have a bunch of investigators over there. I don’t know what to do with investigators… In my last two areas, we’ve just found them all. I don’t know what to do with someone actually learning about the church. So, it’ll be a learning experience to be sure.

This week was a great week, but a hard one. Four of the investigators/potentials were picked up this week. Two of them are this super nice homeless mother and son that nearly everybody in Mentone knows. They’re some of the most Christlike people I’ve ever met. They say that people give them all sorts of food for their two dogs, and they take what food their dogs don’t need, and give it to others to feed their dogs. These people that have so little are trying to give of what they have to make the world a better place. They’re inspiring to me.

Another great experience we had was in a lesson that we expected just to have one progressing investigator at, but another new investigator showed up. They’re at different stages in their knowledge of the gospel, so it was a difficult lesson to teach. But, while we were addressing the new investigators MANY concerns, Kuson, our progressing investigator, basically bore his testimony that he knew that the church was true right there in the lesson. It was incredible. Too bad he has to live in Yucaipa so he can’t stay in this ward.

I’m excited for the opportunities that will come with this new transfer. OH. And we’re having a mission conference in two weeks where Elder Neil L. Andersen of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles is coming to speak with us. AND, he’s doing a Stake Conference for the Redlands Stake. I was worried about being transferred and missing out on the opportunity to see an Apostle in Stake Conference, but I’m still in the stake so no worries!

I love you all and hope you write me!

Elder Connor Weeks
7000 Central Ave
Highland, CA 92346

 

With love,

Elder Weeks

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

