Skip to content

Letter 30: Because of Him

April 15, 2014

Well, this week transfers are happening and I am staying here in Highland. I’m also staying with Elder Vakameilalo, so that’s exciting as well. So, for the first time on my mission, we can simply work through a transfer week instead of worrying about getting a new companion or moving and packing or anything! We’ve already started so much work here, and just to see it progress even more will be amazing.

This week, we have the awesome privilege of celebrating Easter, which is, of course, the celebration of Christ’s resurrection. My favorite scripture around this time of year as a reminder of Christ’s suffering and resurrection is in Alma 7:11-13. It talks about how Christ took those things upon Himself just for the sole purpose that He could help us, that He could ‘know according to the flesh how to succor his people according to their infirmities.’ That’s pretty incredible.

Alma 34 also talks about the reason that the sacrifice was necessary to have been made. It reconciles us. Without it, we’d be exposed to the full force of justice for all of our sins. Taking on that punishment for any sin we’ve committed. Which, as the Savior himself describes it in Doctrine and Covenants 19, is so sore and so hard to bear, that it made Christ Himself bleed at every pore and will that He wouldn’t have to do it. But He did do it. And it says in verse 16, that He did do it, so that we didn’t have to suffer it.

One of my favorite Mormon Messages is called Rescued by Christ. It’s right here. Talking about how there is a man out there that died for you. That part makes me shiver every time. It makes it so personal, especially when he talks about how ‘nobody put him down when he was being stupid.’ I can relate to that one so well, and it’s just a great video.

The Atonement is just one of those things that I could just talk about and talk about. In fact, I’m sure I’ve shared all of these things before in one email or another, but it’s just such a powerful thing. It’s infinitely powerful, and we have a chance to celebrate it here in a week. So don’t get caught up in all of the bunnies and candy, (though they’re super delicious and fun), but just take some time to thank your Savior for all that He’s done for you. I know that He is my best friend and is there always for me, and that He’s there for you too, no matter what.

I know that I’ve crammed a ton of links into this post, but this one is the most important: http://easter.mormon.org/. This links to an incredible video called ‘Because of Him’. I invite you to watch it, and to share it on your Facebook or the Twitter Machine or whatever the hip social network is nowadays. Watch it, share it, and spread the message within. And just remember. He’s there for you no matter what. I know that to be true, and that’s what I’m here sharing with everybody, so they can know for themselves of this solemn truth.

Love,

Elder Connor Weeks
7000 Central Ave
Highland, CA 92346
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

