Skip to content

Letter 33: How to Receive a Blessing from God

May 8, 2014

This week was crazy weather-wise. There’s apparently these things called the Santa Ana winds. I’d never heard of them before, but we experienced them this week. 25-30 MPH winds, completely full of pollen from the plants on the high desert, while the temperature is 97 degrees. Talk about a blast cooker. It’s like you open the door to go outside, but accidentally step into an oven. I don’t even remember what a cloud looks like. But it’s all part of the experience! And it gave me another safari idea! BLOWN OVER TRASH CAN SAFARI!  Here’s the link:  http://imgur.com/a/4qkb2

Oh! And this week was Elder Vakameilalo’s Birthday! We had a good dinner with one of our less-actives, and I made him a birthday card (with my left hand).

My left-handed birthday card

Left-handed birthday card

Delicious Birthday chinese

Delicious Birthday Chinese

Work-wise, this area is slow. We have few investigators, even fewer less-actives (which is my favorite work), and even fewer active members. So, I’ve been thinking a lot about how to start up the work here, just like I had tried to do in my last two areas. It’s kind of like Leave No Trace out here. Leave your area better than it was when you got there. Baptisms are cool to have, but I feel like, and Preach My Gospel accords, that if you’re working your hardest and doing all that you can to move the work of salvation forward, you’re having success.

And of course, that’s great and all, but I wanted to know how to start up work here in our area. I received another talk from that same excommunicated member I talked about last week. It’s called “How to Receive a Blessing from God” by Harold B. Lee. Basically to sum it up, it takes D&C 130:20-21 and ties it together with the story of the Brother of Jared in the book of Ether. He says that if we are to obtain a blessing from God, we need to do ALL that we can in order to deserve it. I HIGHLY suggest Googling it. It’s not on lds.org, so I can’t link it, but it’s definitely worth a look.

So that’s what we’re going to do. I fasted this Sunday just simply to know what to do to start the area again. I received my answer through the Bishop speaking and talking about self-sacrifice and developing those Christlike attributes. Basically doing what Christ would do if he were here. I’m going to give myself to the Lord. Forget myself and go to work. Be an instrument in His hands to bring His children back to the fold. That’s what I’m out here for anyways, so why not?

Thanks for all y’all do for me! And for the response to last week’s letter.

Love,

Elder Weeks
7000 Central Ave
Highland, CA 92346
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

