Skip to content

Letter 35: Patience and Diligence

May 19, 2014

First, before I do anything, I want to issue a shout out to my dad for his birthday coming up! Woohoo! Second, shout out to my cousin Tyler for getting his mission call to the mission just north of mine in Brazil and entering the MTC the day before my 1 year mark! Wooooo! Now all we need is a parade, and I’m set.

This week was an interesting one. We’re still working with our few people, but trying to find more. Our area is small, there aren’t many members, and there aren’t many places to go to really talk to and find people. I just believe that it’s teaching me patience and diligence, and the faith that goes along with them. Three things that are essential in this earthly life, especially on a mission.

Ether 12:6 in the Book of Mormon was one of those scriptures I memorized for scripture mastery in seminary. I knew all the words, and what it talked about, but I didn’t know how to necessarily apply it in my life. It says that ‘faith is things which are hoped for, and not seen.’ This is kind of my standard definition for faith. Faith is like a little seed, if planted, it will grow. That’s from a primary song we sang as children. The second half of the verse in Ether is the part that is my favorite. ‘You receive no witness until after the trial of your faith.’

Now, what does that mean? It means that we don’t know until our faith is tried. We don’t know with a surety that what is promised will happen, but we have enough faith and trust in God that we do it, and hope for the blessing that will follow. It’s like planting a seed. We don’t know that it will grow. We just trust that if we care for it, and do those things that we need to, the seed will grow into a full plant.

So, just like that, we can take the promises in the scriptures and exercise our faith in following the standards that God puts forth, and trust in Him that he will bless us. My favorite, and one of the most striking, examples of this is in Malachi 3:10. He promises us that if we pay our tithing, He will pour out a blessing so big that we ‘won’t have room enough to receive it.’ That sounds like something that’s worth 10% of our income. 🙂

Lastly, I want to share my favorite scripture I found this week in the Bible, Hebrews 11:6. “But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.” I know that that is true, and I will keep diligently seeking Him and doing those things that I know that He wants me to do, and I invite you all to do the same and never give up on God, because He never gives up on you.

I love you all,

Elder Connor Weeks
7000 Central Ave
Highland, CA 92346
Me and our pit bull friend

Me and our pit bull friend

 

We've used a lot of toilet paper!

We’ve used a lot of toilet paper!

 

How many goats are there?

How many goats are there?

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

