Skip to content

Letter 36: Going to the Desert

May 29, 2014

Well, happy Memorial Day yesterday, and thanks for all those veterans and people serving our country to keep the freedoms we know, love, and take for granted!

Transfer announcements came out today, (but we had Zone Conference on Saturday, so we knew super early) and I’m getting transferred again! This time, it’s a looooong move. I’m going out to Yucca Valley. It’s in the “High Desert” aka, the place where there is no grass on top of a mountain so you get sunburnt really easily, especially when you’re riding a bike. 🙂 Anyways, I love my ward here in Highland, but it’s exciting to get a change! Hopefully I can sweat some of this weight off that I’ve gained here. And get an awesome tan! My plan is to take a leaf out there so I remember what the color green is.

It’s going to be kind of hard, because in this ward, both Elder Vakameilalo and I are being pulled out, and they’re putting two new missionaries in. (One of which is coming from the ward I’m going to). So we need to give them ALL the information they need in order to not have anybody slip through the cracks. From the names/places/situations of our investigators, all the way down to the fact that we’re leaving with about half a roll of toilet paper left.

It’s going to be sad leaving this area. I love the bishop, I love the members, and I especially love our investigators, but I know that the Lord has something in store for me in Yucca Valley.

Something I’ve learned out here on the mission, especially being a visa waiter, is how the Lord’s paths are above ours, and how His thoughts are above our thoughts. We need to trust in Him, trust His plan for us, and do the best with the circumstances we’re presented. Elder Bednar’s talk in this last general conference sums this up perfectly.

Over time they continued to counsel together and ultimately decided to acquire the truck. Shortly after taking possession of the new vehicle, my friend wanted to demonstrate the utility of the truck and validate his reasons for wanting to purchase it. So he decided he would cut and haul a supply of firewood for their home. It was in the autumn of the year, and snow already had fallen in the mountains where he intended to find wood. As he drove up the mountainside, the snow gradually became deeper and deeper. My friend recognized the slick road conditions presented a risk, but with great confidence in the new truck, he kept going.

Sadly, my friend went too far along the snowy road. As he steered the truck off of the road at the place he had determined to cut wood, he got stuck. All four of the wheels on the new truck spun in the snow. He readily recognized that he did not know what to do to extricate himself from this dangerous situation. He was embarrassed and worried.

My friend decided, “Well, I will not just sit here.” He climbed out of the vehicle and started cutting wood. He completely filled the back of the truck with the heavy load. And then my friend determined he would try driving out of the snow one more time. As he put the pickup into gear and applied power, he started to inch forward. Slowly the truck moved out of the snow and back onto the road. He finally was free to go home, a happy and humbled man.

Sometimes we all need that burden, to teach us a lesson, to strengthen our testimonies, just to give us that “spiritual traction” that we need to progress in this life. So, when life gets dark and dreary, look for the light. Look for the lesson you can learn in whatever situation you’re placed in. Seek out the silver lining, because there always is one. You can even ask God in prayer to show it to you. And He will. 

Thank you all for all the support and emails this last week! My situation in Yucca Valley is kind of awkward. The Post Office won’t forward mail to my address, because it’s way out in the boonies. So email will probably be the best way to contact me at this point. I’ll put my address on here when I get it if you really want to send a letter. I’d still love it!

Wow, long letter.

Love you all!
 
Elder Connor Weeks
Most of my zone

Most of my zone

 

The Bishop, his wife and me

The Bishop, his wife and me

 

#SelfieMonday

#SelfieMonday

 

Lunch. Eggs, hot dog, pickles, hot cheetos, and ketchup burrito. "The mission surprise"

Lunch. Eggs, hot dog, pickles, hot cheetos, and ketchup burrito. “The mission surprise”

 

Ghetto pic

Ghetto pic

 

The comp and me in the park

The comp and me in the park

 

Frisbee language study

Frisbee language study

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

