Skip to content

Letter 46: I Love America

August 5, 2014

I totally forgot to find another thing for the Desert Scavenger Hunt, so I hope y’all can find it in your hearts to forgive me!

This whole ‘going to Brazil’ thing hasn’t really been real to me until about now. I’m super excited to go. Brazil’s always been something kind of far off in the future, even after I got my visa. It became real to me last night. Every time I see President Van Cott, he asks me if I’m getting everything figured out to go. I spoke Portuguese with one of our members last night and fell back in love with the language. I’m sooooo excited to go, but I’m so sad to leave.

Honesty hour, I’m kind of scared. Going from this mission, where I know a lot of missionaries, know the culture, know the president, know the jokes and who the missionaries are and what all the areas are like, and leaving all that behind and jumping two feet into the dark where I don’t even know the language very well. That’s scary. When I got my travel plans and learned that the person picking us up from the airport spoke zero English, that was a little bit of a shock. Needless to say, the language studies these last couple weeks are becoming a lot more effective.

But this leaves room to learn. Just like in Hymn 97, Lead, Kindly Light, sometimes we hope that the path in front of us will be lit up like a highway with streetlights on each side. But that’s not how it works. God gives us just as much as we need. ‘One step enough for me.’ And that’s what I’m hoping for. That I can not get overwhelmed, and just focus on the next step, always looking for that manageable, but significant step.

Sadly, the D family isn’t going to get baptized this week. We were exercising our faith in setting a super early date, but they aren’t quite ready for baptism yet. However, we did fast for help with them, and he used to work Sundays, so he could only come to the first hour of church, BUT the day we fasted, we got a text from them saying that he got a promotion, and will have Sundays completely off. That was a miracle. Fasting works. I do know that for a fact.

I love this work. I’m sad that I won’t see any baptisms in my time here in America, but I know that I didn’t waste my time here. I know that I gave it my all and have no regrets. And that’s what matters.

Thanks for everything that y’all do for me and the support!

Love,

Elder Connor Weeks

Joshua tree sunset

Joshua tree sunset

We got lost outside of town

We got lost outside of town

Connor at Joshua Tree National Park

Connor at Joshua Tree National Park

Elder Taylor at Joshua Tree National Park

Elder Taylor at Joshua Tree National Park

Elder Taylor at Joshua Tree National Park

Elder Taylor at Joshua Tree National Park

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

