Skip to content

Letter 51: First Week in the Second Mission

September 15, 2014

Wow. Brazil´s awesome. But it´s a change.

Sometimes I catch myself thinking, `Whoa, there´s so many people here that speak Portuguese. What a blessing. I can practice with everyone.´ Then I remember that I´m actually in Brazil.

I´m in an area in Maceió itself, Ala Clima Bom. Clima Bom is a neighborhood in Maceió, and it´s awesome. My `trainer´ is Elder Eddington. He´s from Payson, Utah and has been out on the mission about a year and a half. We´re in a trio right now. The other missionary is Elder Pahoran, and he´s from the interior of Brazil. He´s going home in a week, so it´ll just be me and Elder Eddington after next week.

First off, every missionary in the entire mission is on foot. Man, we were spoiled back in Redlands having cars to do transfers and everything. My mission president is President Gomes. He seems pretty cool. He just entered the mission as president in July, so he´s trying to figure it all out as well. It´s also kind of strange to have zero sidewalks. It rains every day at least once, always while we´re walking. But it´s cool, because you just stand under shelter for 5 to 10 minutes, and it quits. There are a lot of animals just hanging out everywhere. Millions of dogs, cats, chickens, and even horses just in the streets.

Life here is different in general. Our apartment: when I arrived, I was astonished. Everything here is dirty. Not complaining, it´s just a simple statement of truth. Everything is dirty. We can´t walk barefoot in our apartment. We don´t have a dryer, so we hang dry our clothes, but it´s so humid here that nothing gets dry. Milk comes in a box and is good for 4 months outside the fridge if you don´t open it. I have to put bug spray on at night to protect myself from the mosquitos. We have to keep things in the fridge so bugs and rats don´t get into them. We even have a cat in the backyard to keep the rats out. But I love it.

The people are awesome. We have members that introduce us to their friends/family almost every day. One young man invited his cousin to church yesterday. We met with him last night, and he´s on date for baptism this coming Friday. The field truly is white, already to harvest.

The food isn´t anything too strange yet. I don´t remember anything too crazy. Rice every meal, beans every meal, but there´s enough variety in meats and other things that you never get sick of it.

I´m glad I spent the first part of my mission on bike and walking in California. Or else I´d be dead right now. So much walking. But it´s great. None of the streets are marked with their names. We were contacting some referrals we received, and we were looking for a certain number on like `Jerusalem Street´. Well, there´s three Jerusalem Streets. None of them are marked. So we went to all 3, and the house was on the last one. Broken pavement to cobblestone to dirt to mud streets. Way different. And everybody speaks a language I can barely understand.

But I love it.

If there´s anything else y´all want to know, just let me know for next week!

Love,

Elder Connor Weeks

weeks.connor@myldsmail.net

First View of São Paulo

First View of São Paulo

São Paulo MTC Arrival

São Paulo MTC Arrival

My district and all our teachers

My district and all our teachers

Elder Kimball and Me

Elder Kimball and Me

Sao Paulo Temple

Sao Paulo Temple

São Paulo temple that Irmão Severo drew

São Paulo temple that Irmão Severo drew

Walmart by the Temple

Walmart by the Temple

Selfie with Elder Kimball

Selfie with Elder Kimball

My District at the Temple

My District at the Temple

Elder Frazier (EFY Roommate) and Me

Elder Frazier (EFY Roommate) and Me

Elder Kimball and I with Elder Clive, from MTC 1.0

Elder Kimball and I with Elder Clive, from MTC 1.0

Arriving in Maceió

Arriving in Maceió

The one picture of the outskirts of Maceió I got before my camera died

The one picture of the outskirts of Maceió I got before my camera died

President and Sister Gomes and us at the President's house

President and Sister Gomes and us at the President’s house

President and Sister Gomes and me

President and Sister Gomes and me

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

