Skip to content

Letter 57: Sacrifice Brings Forth the Blessings of Heaven

October 28, 2014

Sorry for last week, team. It was a hard week.

But. We’re starting to see this area pick up. The title of this email comes from Praise to the Man, one of the hymns of the Church. And this is probably my favorite line of any hymn in the hymn book, because it’s so true.

I figured out I was down last week because I was distracted. I learned that I’m coming home a month before I thought I was going to, just in time for the Fall Semester at BYU to start. So I was super distracted, thinking about when I was going to come home, what I’d do, where I’ll live, what classes I’ll take. All things that missionaries don’t need to worry about yet. Ecclesiastes 3:1. But I figured out that this was the problem, and I’m not going to think about it again, until I need to.

Back to sacrifice. The mission is a sacrifice. 2 years of your life, but every day we, as missionaries, need to consciously strive to sacrifice ourselves. We have a rule in this mission that we don’t tract. We try to work with the members and make contacts. But one day this week, I was getting down again, and I disobeyed the rule and knocked a door. And we talked with the lady, she had talked to missionaries downtown a couple weeks before, and invited us back. I immediately felt happier again. I’m not on the mission to talk to my companion about where we’re going to live, I’m here to invite others to come unto Christ. So that’s what I need to be doing every day, all day.

Brazil Fun Fact: There is no such thing as the EPA here. So, all the showers, sinks, washing machines, everything beyond the toilet drains into the gutter. We have an awesome member that lives near the end of Maceió, by the ‘jungle’. And for my birthday today, we explored down through this ‘jungle’ to a ‘waterfall’ that is actually all of the drain water from Clima Bom, our neighborhood. It was pretty cool. A horse also didn’t like us in his jungle, so he charged us, but it was all right! We ate lunch, and had cake. Today was a pretty good mission birthday.

Looking at the sewage waterfall

Looking at the sewage waterfall

Thanks for all the prayers and support.

Love,

Elder Connor Weeks

The group of youth we explored with

The group of youth we explored with

Elder Eddington and Me

Elder Eddington and Me

A paper cake a member gave me

A paper cake a member gave me

We made brownies a while back

We made brownies a while back

We bought a bunch of cereal with a free bowl!

We bought a bunch of cereal with a free bowl!

Our Cat is Curious

Our Cat is Curious

We made cookies

We made cookies

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

