Skip to content

Letter 75: Charque is…..

March 2, 2015

So! This week, I want to thank you all for your input here on what in the world charque is. The first person to answer was my Aunt Nancy! She gave the answer that charque was traditionally made of llama, but today, it means a dried salted meat, usually beef. Honorable mention to Nick Kabel, who gave me some info about Ecuador, and said that they had the same meat over there, and the name was ch’arki in the language of the Incans, so I’m thinking that this meat goes all the way back to the Nephites and Lamanites.

And this week, it’s gonna be kinda a math problem. Today, I saw a sign for gasoline. The price here is 2.399 real/liter. Using your brains, and the Dollar to Real conversion that google is wont to give, How much is gasoline in dollars/gallon?

We had interviews with the mission president this week. I expressed my worries for the ward, the things that are happening in the ward, and the lack of missionary success in the area. He gave us the advice to start working with the less-active members, helping them to come back to church, because finding new people and bringing them back to church is next to impossible. So that’s what we’re doing.

We already found a couple people close here in the neighborhood who are willing to let us in to invite them back to church, so we’ll see what happens there. And this next week is transfers on the 10th. So that’s coming up soon.

I’m amazed at some of the people I see in the church, giving selfless service in this world of selfishness. It definitely shows an example to me. I like this ward, and yes, I’m not getting the missionary success that I’d like, but I’m learning invaluable lessons on how to be a good disciple of Christ.

Love for everyone!

Elder Connor Weeks

Us on the boardwalk by the beach

Us on the boardwalk by the beach

Elder Sorenson with a bottle of honey we got from our investigator

Elder Sorenson with a bottle of honey we got from an investigator

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Matt Lee permalink

    I believe the answer is $3.14/gallon based on the current exchange rate.

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

