Skip to content

Letter 93: The Final Transfer

July 14, 2015

July 6, 2015

Today was transfers. The final transfer of my mission. And, Elder Melo and I stayed put. So I’m going to finish my mission here in Ala Brasília. The Sisters in Penedo stayed put, and also the Zone Leaders. But as part of this transfer, an area was closed in Palmeira dos Índios, another city here in the interior, and because of that, the district there was closed, but the other companionship that stayed is part of our district now. So, I’m the District Leader over four companionships. Two here in Arapiraca, one in Penedo near the border with the state to the south, and one in Palmeira, near the border with the state to the north. So. I think we’ll be taking a lot of busses this transfer.

You get here to the end of the mission, and in my experience seeing missionaries go home, one of two things happens. 1. You give up, and say ‘oh, it’s the end of the mission, I’m going home in # days, so I’ll just relax and make the transition easy going home. Or, 2. You gain the spirit of urgency, looking at the task ahead of you and seeing that you only have a limited amount of time to complete that task. Last night, laying in my bed, I think the second scenario happened to me.

I really like our teaching group that we have right now. They’re awesome people and I really want to help them. And in my bed falling asleep, it hit me that I only have six more weeks to help them as much as I can. It’s a weird feeling. You look forward to the end of the mission your entire mission. Thinking, ‘oh wow, how will I be at the end? Will I get trunky? Will I work until the end? What’s gonna happen?’ But it’s all good. You come to know yourself on the mission, and more importantly, you come to know the Savior and what he wants you to do. “Nevertheless, not my will, but thine be done.”

So here’s to finishing strong.

Love,

Elder Connor Weeks
Elder Melo and me

Elder Melo and me

Elder Melo, a brother from another ward, and me

Elder Melo, a brother from another ward, and me

The decorations for the São João party

The decorations for the São João party

Munguzá, Corn pudding that I made

Munguzá, Corn pudding that I made

Our Beans

Our Beans

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

