Skip to content

Letter 98: ‘That Ye May Stand as Witnesses’ – Mosiah 24:14

August 10, 2015

You never know a good thing till it’s gone.

This week was my last Sunday here in Ala Brasília. Next Sunday I’m going to be in Maceió, attending church in another area, (maybe Beira Mar). I was called to speak in sacrament meeting about the Book of Mormon. I talked about the people of Alma when they were enslaved by Amulon in Mosiah 24. They prayed in their hearts, because they couldn’t pray out loud, and God heard their prayers, and lightened their burdens, and strengthened their backs so that they could be witnesses afterwards of the goodness of God, and that they could testify that he hears prayers.

I learned this principle this week. This week was one of the hardest of my mission. We went to Palmeira dos Índios on Tuesday to do a baptismal interview. It went a little longer than expected and we missed the last bus to come back to Arapiraca. So, we spent the night at the Elders’ house in Palmeira, without anything–literally just the clothes on our back. We didn’t have anything to take a shower or anything. Luckily they have extra mattresses out there. Probably the worst night of sleep in my life. Well, we got home the next day, and there was a little note on our door saying that the water company had cut off our water for lack of payment. We called the secretaries and it only took two days to get it all settled. And we’re still waiting for them to reconnect the water. We think they’ll do it today! 😀

So I applied the scripture. I’m a witness. God visits us in our afflictions. We may feel overwhelmed, but God will always succor us in our afflictions if we call out for him. He strengthens us and shapes our backs to bear our burdens.

After the talk, I sat down in the pew and just started to think, and got really sad. I love this ward. I love these people. I don’t want to have to leave them behind. It’s a strange thing. I think this is the only time I’m ever going to feel this way in my entire life. But it’s okay. Everything’s part of the plan of God.

I didn’t take any pictures this week. I forgot how to use my camera. but I’m hoping I’ll be able to at least send a little note next week before coming home!

Love,

Elder Connor Weeks
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

